TSC Awards Night 2018

On 5th January, Tiverton Swimming Club held its annual presentation evening at Moorhayes Community Centre where members, parents, coaches and volunteers all gathered to celebrate the achievements of the past year, with Club President Terry Fullick handing out a total of 44 awards.


The prestigious title of swimmer of the year was presented to Jack Aldridge, who last year became the first TSC member for many years to achieve national qualification.  His coaches were proud of this and his dedication to training which has given him significant success in the pool over the last 12 months.

Club stalwart Lin Olsen was presented with an outstanding volunteer award in appreciation of her incredible 38 years of service to TSC.  In that time she has taught hundreds of local children to swim and continues to do so whilst working with the Learn To Swim squad on Friday evenings.

Squad Awards

There were also trophies awarded for various achievements throughout the different swimming squads within the club:

Learn to Swim:

Most Improved – Harvey Pratt and Jessica Miller
Top Trainers     – Jacob Lawrence and Jasmine Duncan

CSA Junior:

Most Improved – William Chambers and Maddie Biss
Top Trainers     – Callum Yardley and Amy Baker

CSA Senior:

Most Improved – Aaron Wood and Freya Broom
Top Trainers     – Alfie Mason and Phoebe Green

Skill Development:

Most Improved – Freddie Brassey-Barlow and Marina Lambert-Gorwyn
Top Trainers     – James List and Grace Baldwin

Senior Squads:

Most Improved Breaststroke   – Micah Partridge and Louisa Gibbins
Most Improved Backstroke     – Dylan Cleverley and Gemma Dilks
Most Improved Freestyle        – Wilf Arrowsmith and Olivia Broom
Most Improved Butterfly         – Jack Aldridge and Jodie Dilks
Top Trainers                              – Sam Arrowsmith and Lucy Webber

Club Championship Age Group Winners

Swimmers scoring the most points in the 2017 club championships were awarded Age-Group Cups:

8 years & under   – Callum Yardley and Lotte Declerck
9 year olds            – Jasper Newnes and Emma Declerck
10 year olds          – Freddie Brassey-Barlow and Arabella Boyde
11 year olds          – Edward Bakewell and Jodie Dilks
12 year olds          – Wilf Arrowsmith and Jessica Swanston
13 year olds          – Sam Arrowsmith and Olivia Broom
14 year olds          – Jack Aldridge and Emily Peters
15 years & over    – Dylan Cleverley and Katie Walton